Sunburgers


Sun BurgerAnother creation using my Excalibur dehydrator and the informative dehydration guide Preserve It Naturally.  If you are so inclined to buy a dehydrator I would highly recommend the Excalibur brand.  I purchased the nine tray model and am so glad I did.  You can dry so many things simultaneously.

I made these sunburgers twice and these were much better the second time around.  My first attempt I used way too much Braggs Liquid Aminos and they were too salty for my taste and I love salty things…

So here is my version of the Sunburgers recipe:

Ingredients:

•    2 cups raw sunflower seeds,  soaked 6 – 8 hours
•    ½ cup carrots, sliced
•    ½ cup celery, sliced
•    3 green onions, sliced
•    1 yellow bell pepper, sliced
•    1 cup raw spinach, shredded
•    ¼ cup fresh basil
•    ¼ cup fresh parsley
•    Braggs Liquid Aminos  to taste
•    ¼ tsp cayenne pepper

Instructions:

Drain the water off the sunflower seeds.  Place all ingredients into a food processor and blend well.  Scoop out mixture and form into patties and place on dehydrator trays.

Dry at  105°F for 12 -24 hours until dry.    I dried these for 12 hours initially and then turned them over to continue to dry for another 12 hours.  We enjoyed these sunburgers with sliced tomato and guacamole.  No bun required…

Enjoy!

About Tricia Boksanski

find me on Facebook

Posted on April 21, 2011, in Main Courses, Snacks & Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment / Reply:

