Classic Green Split Pea Soup


So here is my first recipe for 2012!   I am hoping to get more recipes posted this year maybe one per month!  Here is a classic recipe for green split pea soup!  I love it however I know some who just can’t get past the green color.  Definitely a great way to warm you up after a nice hike or some outdoor activity!  So grateful it is 2012 and the weather has been exceptionally mild!  A balmy 45 today!!!  So I dedicate this first recipe to my Mom!  After serving a wonderful spiral ham for Christmas my Mom called telling me she saved the ham bone for me if I wanted to make pea soup…lol  My Mom doesn’t even like pea soup but my Dad does so I made a batch and brought it over to him.  Of course I kept some for myself to have!  A great easy meal to eat for the nights I just don’t want to cook!Green Split Pea Soup

Ingredients:

•    2 cups split green peas
•    1 small onion, finely chopped
•    1 ham bone
•    2 quarts water
•    2 cloves garlic, minced
•    1/3 tsp thyme
•    Black pepper to taste

Instructions:

Rinse and sort peas.  Add peas and water to stockpot and bring to a boil.  Simmer 2 minutes.  Remove from heat, cover and let stand 1 hour.  Add ham bone, onion, garlic and thyme to stockpot and return to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 2 1/2 hours covered (or until peas are soft).  Remove ham bone and slice off meat and add back to soup (if desired).  Season to taste with black pepper.

Enjoy!

About Tricia Boksanski

find me on Facebook

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Main Courses, Sides Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Would love to hear how your soup comes out substituting the ham bone!

  2. Hi, Thanks for sharing and I love the idea of a recipe or more a month hint hint ♥.•*¨* I will make it without the ham bone. I may try beef or turkey instead. Have a great day ♥.•*¨*

Comment / Reply:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

